Beauty

Long Lasting Makeup.

Hello everyone!

On a regular basis my make up varies between low key and non existent. However, some occasions call for a slightly more polished look that needs to stay in place for a number of hours. So here is the run down on the various products and tricks I use.

IMG_4723

The Prep: Starting with a clean face, I tone and moisturise based on how my skin is feeling. If it’s on the drier side I use a moisturiser followed by a primer, else a 2 in 1 like the Nivea Hydration Primer will do the trick. Also remember to exfoliate your lips and apply a lip balm at this point.

The Base: For an event of some sort, I go for an SPF free foundation such as the Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Foundation buffed in with a buffing brush. Then I go in and cover up any blemishes or redness with the Make Up For Ever Full Cover Concealer. You have to be careful with this concealer as it can go a bit cakey, but when applied in light layers it stays put for a really long time. Finally I spray a makeup sponge with a setting spray and use that to make sure my base looks really natural and seamless.

The Face: If I’m using a cream blush, I’ll go straight in with it now. If I’m using a powder blush, I’ll lightly dust on some translucent powder first for the blush to better adhere to. I’m very new to this whole contouring business but the Kevyn Aucoin Sculpting Powder makes it a bit easier, especially with the Real Techniques Contour Brush.

The Eyes: I like to go slightly smoky on the eyes, especially in the evenings. This time I used the ELF Smudge Pot in Back to the Basics as a base colour and primer in one. Then moving onto the Lorac Pro Palette 2, I used Cool Gray in the crease and Cocoa in the outer corner and used a clean blending brush to blend it all together. For an amped up smoky look I lined my upper and lower lash line with a black eyeliner and softened it by running a cotton bud over it. Finish up by applying mascara. My favourite is the Maybelline Colossal Waterproof Mascara.

The Lips: I’m not really one for bold lips, so I keep it simple with the NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Dolce Vita. It has pretty good staying power, but nothing stays longer than an hour on me, so I pop it into my purse to top up throughout the evening.

It’s a long process, but hopefully with practise it’ll get quicker! What are your tips for long lasting makeup?

Until next time,Love,Me 🙂

2 thoughts on “Long Lasting Makeup.

Leave a Reply

