Beauty / Reviews

All Done #3

Hello everyone!

Another few months, another look at a bunch of things I have used up. And this is a haircare heavy edition.

IMG_4637

First up, the haircare. Since I tend to alternate between a few different shampoos and conditioners rathe regularly, I ran out of 2 sets at about the same time. The L’Oreal EverPure Shampoo and Conditioner were great at putting some volume back into my fine,limp hair without stripping it at all. The fact that they are sulphate free and still lathered up really well was just the icing on the cake. It also smells really fresh with a hint of green, but I did get a bit bored of the scent by the end. (They lasted me a REALLY long time!)

The second set to be used up are the Aveda Shampure Shampoo and Conditioner. This was my fuss free, “It’s 2 am and I really need to wash my hair for tomorrow morning” option. It’s fairly pricey, and I find I need a good amount to get it to work effectively in my hair, but despite that I always end up going back to it. The absolutely divine smell helps of course.

I’m always skeptical of anything that has the word “miracle” in the title and the It’s a 10 miracle leave in product was no exception. While it’s not going to mend split ends (mainly because it cannot be done) and make your hair look like in the adverts (seriously, who has hair like that?) it will make your hair a lot more swooshy and manageable. If you have curly hair that usually forms a dreadlock at the bottom of your neck by the end of the day: you need this.

IMG_4638

On to body care, I almost always have a bottle of the Original Source Lavender and Tea Tree Show Gel because it is my night time body wash of choice. Lavender is my favourite scent and it really does help me relax before bed. This one is made with real lavender and is almost always on offer in Boots for £1. Bargain! Another line of body washes that I love is the Dove Nourishing Body Wash. I find this line great because the formulation is so creamy that I can get away with not moisturising my scaly limbs (though not for too long), but it comes in a variety of scents so I can switch between them easily without getting bored. This one was the Plum and Sakura Blossom scent, which is a departure from my usual floral/fresh choices. The plum gives it a deeper scent making it great for winter time, but the sakura blossom still keeps it uplifting. A lovely choice for the colder months.

Finally, the Imperial Lather Sensuous Silk was one that I picked up on a whim because it was on offer. While it wasn’t anything ground breaking, it did leave my skin feeling rather silky which was very nice. It had a very faint but pleasant powdery scent that didn’t linger too long, so it didn’t clash with my perfume, but it did run out fairly quickly. Overall quite good, but not one I would rush out to repurchase. (PS: I couldn’t find the link to this scent, but the Japanese Spa one is REALLY nice)

IMG_4634

I also used up a mini tub of the Body Shop Pink Grapefruit Body Butter, which was very moisturising as are all body butters from the Body Shop, and I particularly liked this fragrance as it was quite zesty and zingy.

And finally onto some skincare bits. I have had this tube of Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish for ages, mainly as a little tends to go a fairly long way for me. It is a very nice, gentle cream cleanser with natural ingredients. The initial smell is a very strong eucalyptus scent that dies down to a subtle herbal scent after a bit. I found it to great as a second cleanse in the evening or as a morning cleanse (aka not that great at removing makeup). While it is a cult product for a reason, I feel that there are better dupes out in the market now for a fraction of the price, such as the Superdrug Radiance Hot Cloth Cleanser.

Two mini sized products that I have enjoyed using are the L’Occitance Lavender Hand Cream and the Caudalie Beauty Elixir.

The hand cream has a very light but very wet texture which means that it sinks in quickly but is very moisturising at the same time.Because of that I prefer this version over the original Shea version that everyone and their mum raves about.I really like the fact that I can apply a bit in the middle of class and still carry on writing without my pen sliding out of my fingers. The travel size is handy to throw in your bag, but still lasts a while as you only need a tiny amount.

The Caudalie elixir is a face mist which isn’t really a need, but definitely a big want. It contains various essential oils and has a rather strong scent, so make sure you have a sniff before buying it. While the bigger bottle is great value for money, the smaller one is much more convenient to carry around for a little pick me up when you need it. Especially if you’re stuck in an office all day and start to feel a bit groggy mid afternoon.

What products have you used up recently?

Until next time, Love, Me 🙂

2 thoughts on “All Done #3

Leave a Reply

