Beauty

Soothing Skincare

Hello everyone!

Sorry about my sudden absence, but with stacks of lab reports waiting to be marked and two exams in one week, the blog has slid down my list of priorities. But we are now into the final (and my favourite) two months of the year, which means colder nights. Cue lighting candles most nights and walking around in fuzzy boots to prevent my toes from falling off.

With the cold winds blowing at my face, I sometimes need a simple soothing skincare routine that won’t leave my entire face looking like Rudolph’s nose. (Too early for christmas references?) So enter some amazing products that hydrate without irritating my skin.

IMG_4531

 

Origins Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Cleanser: I bought this after a free mini facial at the origins counter where the lady used this on me. I tend to use this in the mornings if my face is a bit flushed after hiding under a million tog duvet for 8 hours. While this probably won’t be great at removing makeup, it’s very cooling on the skin, making it great for monday mornings.

Avène Gentle Toner: Avène are a great brand for sensitive skin of all sorts. This toner is alcohol free and great for dry and sensitive skin. It is biphase, so it does separate if you leave it out for a bit, but a good shake will sort that out.

Avène Hydrating Serum: I bought this on a complete whim, but it’s absolutely great for the winter months for when I want to amp up the hydration but without my skin feeling sticky. This sinks in almost instantly and feels like it is actually protecting the skin (but without leaving a film). It’s not overly hydrating, so I would say it is good for normal to dry skin, rather than very dry skin. Again, one for the mornings, but only because I tend to use oils at night.

First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream: This is another great, non offensive cream that can be used anywhere on the face or body, and just does what it says on the tin. I took this away when I went camping, and it worked really well. A lovely multipurpose cream which is also supposed to help with eczema. I liked this so much that I am looking forward to trying more things by this brand.

And there you have it! A simple skincare routine for anyone with dry and sensitive skin. Have you tried any of these products?

Until next time, Love, Me 🙂

2 thoughts on “Soothing Skincare

Leave a Reply

