Beauty

All about nails..

Hello everyone!

For todays post I thought I would write about the various products and tips(Haha get it?) I use to get my nails into semi presentable state. Like most things I want them to look good without having to put too much effort into it, and this is what tends to work for me. While I hate having any nail polish on my fingernails, I do like having some colour on my toes.

IMG_4371

 

Firstly the prep. After getting off any old nail polish, I trim and file my nails. I have spoken earlier about the Leighton Denny Crystal Nail File, which is my absolute favourite nail file. Glass nail files are supposed to be better for your nails, and I have never snagged my nails on clothes after using this! Occasionally if the skin around my nails need a bit of a tidy up, I’ll use the Sally Hansen Gel Cuticle Remover along with a cuticle pusher to get rid of any flaky bits hanging around.

Before moving onto painting my nails, I use this trick I found on the internet. If you’re a nail painting noob like I am, the skin around your nail is probably splattered with nail polish. To stop that happening, just apply a layer of petroleum jelly around your nail. So even if you end up colouring outside the lines, you can simply wipe it off! Genius!

IMG_4374

 

I bought the Sally Hansen Double Duty Base & Top Coat so that I wouldn’t have to mess about with two bottles. Unfortunately, as a top coat it takes forever to dry, and I inevitably end up smudging my nails. It does work pretty well as a base coat though. For the actual nail colour, 90% of the time it will be one of the two shown the picture above: Maybelline Color Show in Orange Attack or Essie Mint Candy Apple. The Maybelline one is a bright orangey-red colour which works with my skin tone, and the Essie one is a light pastel mint. While I love them both, Essie nail polishes (the diffusion line) have amazing brushes and formulations. They last on me for absolutely yonks (technical term). Since the double duty didn’t cut the mustard as a top coat, I use the Revlon Quick Dry Top Coat which does exactly what it says on the tin.

Finally to finish up, once everything is dry, I swipe on the Essie Apricot Cuticle Oil to keep everything nice and hydrated. Perhaps not strictly necessary (at least for me), but it does smell absolutely divine. Sometimes I’ll put some on just so that my nails can smell nice 🙂

While this looks like a lot, I usually do it while marathon watching youtube videos so that I can give everything enough time to dry between coats and before I know it, I’m done! What are your nail essentials?

Until next time, Love, Me 🙂

2 thoughts on “All about nails..

Leave a Reply

