A day in the life of

A Day in the Life: March 18th 2014

Hello everyone!

This is my second post for the link up hosted by Amanda of Break the Sky.

A Day in the Life: A Linkup by Break the Sky

This week is Spring break! This means no classes to attend or teach for me this week, but I do have some work to do, which will inevitably done in a hurry over the weekend. So far, I have just been trying to relax in order to gear up for the hectic couple of months ahead.

12am: Since it is technically a post covering the whole of tuesday, I will start from midnight. I am a night owl by nature, and so I spend the next few hours watching The West Wing. I started watching this series in October with my dad while I was in India and I got really hooked. As an aside, here is an article on reasons why The West Wing is amazing.

3am: Realise I am feeling a bit grumpy because my hair has been greasy/dirty all day. Long,hot showers at 3am are the best. I have quite dry hair and found out I had no deep conditioning hair masks left a few days ago, so I had to get a new one. Tested it out for the first time, and it seems to work really well.

Photo 19-03-2014 14 54 00

4:15 am: Bedtime!

10:30am: Apartment inspection! We had spent hours on monday scrubbing the apartment clean, all for a ten second inspection. At least it’s done now.

11:30am: A rumbling tummy reminds me to get some food. I have some savoury oats that my parents had sent a while back as part of a care package.

12:30 pm: Realise I had almost forgotten to hand in tax forms to the university. I know, you can all be jealous of my exciting life now. So I quickly print out and sign the forms, get dressed and head out. Only to be greeted by this:

Photo 18-03-2014 13 30 11

Spring is apparently the season for dust storms in Lubbock. Lucky me. A quick assessment at ground level showed that it was doable if we hurried. Thanking my past self for being too lazy to put in contact lenses, I managed to get the forms to the admin office and get back with only a little sand in my mouth.

2pm: I make myself a snack and quickly scoff it down in time for our Dungeons and Dragons group to meet online for a gaming session. Much laughter ensued as a character managed to trip on the same rock thrice in a row. Also other stuff involving robots and sub machine guns happened, but we won’t go into details here.

Photo 19-03-2014 14 34 44

5:30pm: It was quite a long session today, so I cool off a bit by catching up on some blogs via Bloglovin. I find that it’s a great way to get the latest updates from all the various blogs in one place. After that, I get BF to make me a cup of tea, and settle down to read the next book in the Dresden Files series.

Photo 18-03-2014 17 38 18

8pm: We had originally planned to go out for dinner, but because of the dust storm we decided to stay in instead. I made some rice and we caught up on the latest episode of How I Met Your Mother. Cherry pie and vanilla ice cream for pudding. Yum.

9pm: The combination of going out in the dust storm, smoke from the cooking (couldn’t open the windows, or everything would be covered in dust) and staring at a computer screen weren’t doing my (rather sensitive) eyes any favours. To try and cool my eyes down a bit, I soaked two cotton pads in cold water and placed them over my eyes for a few minutes. They help, but not much. So I decide to call it a day and go to bed.

9:30pm: Time to wind down for bed. While I didn’t want to put on a face mask, I wanted to give my skin a good pamper as I have kind of been ignoring it for the past few days, and I still have a few angry blemishes. So a good cleansing facial massage with my beloved Emma Hardie Cleansing Balm was in order. Since my face was looking/feeling a bit meh, I topped everything off with a few drops of the Clarins Blue Orchid Face Oil.

Photo 19-03-2014 14 54 42

12pm: After a bit more reading (in the bed, where my eyes stung a lot less), I actually turned out the lights and went to sleep.

Hope you enjoyed a peek into my rather laid back day! What was your day like?

Until next time, Love, Me 🙂

10 thoughts on “A Day in the Life: March 18th 2014

  1. How are you not tired?! I can’t imagine staying up in the early hours watching tv (although I am up in the early hours reading blogs)!

    I’ve always found sandstorms to be a very odd thing. I’ve never experienced one but I can imagine it is horrible!

    My hubby loves your dice!! He’s into Warhammer and always has dice to hand. And I love them because they’re purple!

Leave a Reply

