Beauty / Reviews

The Terrific Two.

Hello!

Before you ask: No, this isn’t an Enid Blyton spinoff short story. Sorry.

You know sometimes you have two great things, and you put them together and they are even better? Like pizza and coke? Like raspberries and vanilla ice cream? I happened to discover, completely by accident, two lovely shower products that work amazingly well together.

Exhibit A

Exhibit A

My love for Soap and Glory Pulp Friction has been well documented. Not only for the amazing fragrance or the fact that it has the perfect amount of grit that doesn’t just fall off you in the shower. But also for the fact that the scrubby bits are made from pumice, and not polythene. This last bit is rather important as most scrubs (facial ones especially) have micro beads made from polythene which are non biodegradable and pose a significant environmental threat. Poor fishes

I have also recently started using the L’Occitane Almond shower oil, which is a very oily gel that turns into a milk when it comes in contact with water.While rather pricey for a shower gel, I tend to reserve this for special occasions and since you need a small amount, it lasts for a long time. Enriched with almond oil, it is also extremely nourishing for the skin, and would be great for dry skin types. A capful of the oil poured into the bath also scents the room with a lovely almond fragrance.

My usual routine is that I use the scrub, once a week or so, and follow it up with a shower gel to make sure I get all the dead skin off. On a complete whim, I picked up my shower oil and I must say that I am very glad that I did because I was left with extremely smooth and soft skin. In hindsight this makes complete sense, as the scrub buffs away any flakey bits leaving the almond oil to sink in and do its job.

I should start switching up my products more often.

Do you have any product pairs that work better together?

Until next time, Love, Me 🙂

4 thoughts on “The Terrific Two.

  1. I don’t have any perfect pair products but I’ve been sticking to the same beauty routine for a while now and it seems to be working… as long as I regularly wash and moisturize my face, my skin has been good.

    • It’s great that you have found what works for you 🙂 My skin has always been pretty clear, but in the last few months I have been breaking out loads, so trying to keep it under control has been quite a task.

    • It’s an oil that emulsifies on contact with water. I think the basic idea is that the oil moisturises the skin, and then when you want to wash it off it turns milky so that you don’t need soap to get the oil off. It sounds odd, but works quite nicely 🙂

Leave a Reply

