Beauty

Stateside Beauty Picks.

Hello everyone!

Now that I am settled in and have something that vaguely resembles a routine going on, I thought I could finally post something apart from rambling on about how much I hate paperwork. (That’s for another day)

It should come as no surprise that one of the things I am really looking forward to over the next 5 years is easy access to Sephora. The city I am in has one small Sephora, but I plan to take full advantage of online shopping (cue bank balance sobbing). Even though I have literally no space for even an extra tub of moisturiser in my bathroom, I have put together a list of things that I would like to try out that were not previously available to me in the UK. So many cult beauty products, so little space…

stateside_picks

 

Skincare:

My love for my Emma Hardie cleanser is still going strong, so I haven’t been tempted by any other offerings yet, but for toners I have heard quite good reviews about the Micheal Todd products. Their Blue Green Algae toner and Pumpkin Mask are two things I am itching to try from the brand. A quick peruse of Caroline Hiron’s blog will show you how much she loves the Kate Somerville Goat Milk Cream. Listening to her advice really has helped my skin, so I am willing to give this one a go.

Korres is a Greek beauty brand that does a lot of natural skincare products (Natural, Greek and Skincare? Where do I sign up?!) While the brand is available in the UK, it is a lot more accessible here and I will be trying some of their products including the Wild Rose 24 Hour Moisturising and Brightening Cream and their famous lip butters.

The extremely low humidity in these parts means dehydrated skin, so the Josie Maran 100% Pure Argan Oil will probably be a welcome addition to my stash, along with the very pricey but much raved about Fresh Sugar Lip Treatments.

I have briefly mentioned before that I am trying to stay away from manual exfoliation as it damages the delicate facial skin, but I still need something to slough off those dead skin cells. The Dr. Dennis Gross Alpha Beta Peel sounds like it fits the bill just right. I like that it also comes in a small pack of five, so I can see if I like it before buying a huge pack.

Makeup:

Makeup Forever is another hard to get hold of brand in the UK, and since I am on the lookout for a heavy duty concealer to cover a few blemishes that have been cropping up, their Full Cover Concealer should be a nice way to get introduced to the brand.

Mascara is something that needs to be replaced often, so when my current offering expires, I will be picking up this Clump Crusher Mascara from CoverGirl, which should be good as I absolutely HATE having clumpy lashes.

Milani is yet another brand I have heard lots about, and though their baked blushes are a blogger favourite I really like the sound of their Infinite Liquid Eyeliner and Shadow Eyez Eyeshadow pencils. And while we are on the subject of eye makeup, how gorgeous is the Wet N Wild Comfort Zone Palette? With neutral browns and greens, it falls exactly in my comfort zone, and is supposed to have the buttery feeling of much higher end eyeshadows. Into my basket it goes. While I am not into glittery eyeshadows, the slight shimmer of the L’Oreal Infallible Eyeshadows will be perfect for dressier occasions. Again, while these pressed pigments are available in the UK, there is a much wider colour selection available in the states.

One can hardly go to a Sephora without being pulled towards the lovely blush selection from Tarte. While I have enough peachy pinks in my collection to last me a while, this Amazonian Clay 12 Hr Blush in Exposed would be a great pairing with a bolder eye look.

Hair and Extras:

I have heard SO much about the It’s a 10 Miracle Leave in Conditioner that I *may* have already picked this up along with my groceries. My official excuse? I needed a leave in conditioner while I waited for my boxes to arrive. It’s a tad too early to pass a verdict yet, but the spray bottle is handy for making sure I dispense just the right amount in my hair.

With most of my face brushes being Real Techniques I thought I would branch out a bit for my concealer/eye shadow blending brushes. I have a sneaky feeling that this brush from the Sephora Collection will be ending up in my possession soon.

Finally, while not exactly a beauty product, is possibly one that I am most excited about. Allure is a magazine entirely about beauty products and tips and tricks. Every.single.month. What’s not to love?

Have you tried any of these products? Do you have any more recommendations for me?

Until next time, Love, Me 🙂

2 thoughts on “Stateside Beauty Picks.

  1. I hope the Clump Crusher and love it! Also I purchased the Milani ShadowEyez in Champange and it’s so pretty. I didn’t buy the Wet n Wild Comfort Zone but I have Petal Pusher and the limited edition nude palette. I think Wet n Wild has great pigments. I just got a trio palette called Walking on Eggshells you should check out. The Fresh Sugar lip treatments are great. I have two deluxe size samples, one tinted and one not, and feel both are very moisturizing!

Leave a Reply

