Beauty / Reviews

Best Products of 2013

Hello everyone!

As my post featuring my favourites last year seemed quite popular, I thought I would do one again this year, featuring both old favourites and some new finds.

best_of_2013

Haircare:
The Aveda Shampure shampoo and conditioner made it to the top once again this year. I try out other brands, but always end up coming back to this one. As a hair mask the Herbal Essences Beautiful Ends does what it says on the tin, smells lovely and leaves my hair soft and swishy. Post wash, a pump of Argan oil run through the length of my hair keeps it nice and soft. And the Tangle Teezer still holds a special place in my heart for allowing me to brush my hair sans tears, even after a day on roller coasters.
Skincare:
Is it any surprise that the Emma Hardie Cleansing Balm is this years top pick as my cleanser? I thought not. Toners have gained importance in my skincare regime this year after a good peruse of Caroline’s (aka Beauty Mouth’s blog), and the oft raved about Caudalie Beauty Elixir is an amazing multi-purpose spray; whether it be for calming your skin, help keep spots under control or as a general pick me up. While no moisturiser has really wowed me this year, the Simple Kind to Skin Rich Moisturiser has been great for hydrating and calming my skin during the winter months.
Treatments:
Everyone who knows me knows I love a good face mask, and my top picks this year are Mask of Magnaminty from Lush and the Origins Drink up Intensive Overnight Mask. The two also go really well together, as I use the Lush one to draw out any impurities and follow up with the Origins one to really hydrate the skin. Facial oils are a new discovery I have made this year, and the Boots Organic Facial Oil is a great one to use at night before bed to wake up with soft, glowing skin. The Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair has achieved such a cult status that I put off buying it for a long time as I was sure it was a gimmick. But last december I finally caved, and it really is as good at everyone says. To be applied at night, it is supposed to counteract the effects of stress and pollution on the skin. While I am not sure exactly what it does, I use it when my skin really needs a good kick up the bottom and this sorts most issues out. They have since changed the formula slightly, and I am looking forward to using it when mine runs out.
Body Care:
The Soap and Glory Pulp Friction (amazing name!) has definitely been a stand out product for me this year. It is a great selling body exfoliator that has the right amount of grit to it, and actually sticks to the skin when you rub it on instead of just falling off. I use this once a week or so to get rid of any dry patches of skin. I am yet to find anything as good as The Body Shop Body Butters to really moisturise my body, and they come in various scents to suit almost anyone. Bonus points for being natural and not testing on bunnies. The L’Occitane Lavender hand cream and the Body Shop Wild Rose hand cream both tie in first place as they are great at soothing chapped hands without being too greasy.
Makeup:
I have gotten a lot more into makeup this year, but more for special occasions than everyday use. I discovered the Diorskin Nude BB cream late last year, and it was love from first application. It does have rather pinky undertones, so try before you buy if you have a warmer skin tone. Every time someone said foundation my mind conjured up images of faces caked up with makeup, but that was until I found the Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua. This is a very light, sheer coverage foundation, but it easily buildable. (Also a shout out to the lovely ladies at various Chanel counters who were very helpful and friendly 🙂 ) Primers are essential for making makeup last on long, hot days; and the Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer made my face stay in place all day through my graduation ceremony on a sweltering day and the dinner that followed. For all the other 364 cold,grey days in Britain I used the Bourjois Little Round Pot Blusher in Rose Mandarin to add a bit of colour to my cheeks. For when I have a bit of time on my hands, the Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-on Eye Pencils and the Maybelline Colossal Mascara add definition to the eyes, even behind glasses. While I usually swipe on a natural lip colour from the YSL Rouge Volupte range;I also find the Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Honey to be great for everyday wear.
Extras:
With my previous slap dash approach towards makeup,I really didn’t need any brushes. With my recent foray into foundations and eyeshadows I wanted good quality synthetic brushes that wouldn’t break the bank and the Real Technique brushes fit the bill perfectly. I can’t compare them to other brushes as I don’t really own any others, but these do the job well and also wash easily. When it comes to nails, I am still a toenails only person and the Essie polishes have amazing staying power and barely chip at all. Perfume wise my Jo Malone Wild Bluebell cologne is still going strong and I absolutely adore it. I was also kindly gifted the Peony & Blush Suede fragrance for Christmas which I am thrilled about!
If you made it to the end of the post, well done you!! What have been your favourite products this year?

I wish you all a very happy new year and an amazing 2014!

Until next time, Love, Me 🙂

2 thoughts on “Best Products of 2013

  1. I love it when you do these posts! 😀

    I want to try the Soap & Glory products but I have lots of Body Shop stuff to go through first. Have you tried the Soap & Glory body butter yet? If so, how does it compare.

    PS – I love Revlon’s Honey too! 😀

    • Aww thanks!! I haven’t tried the body butters from S&G yet. Their clean on me shower gel, hand food hand cream and pulp friction are all great, and their sugar scrub was a bit meh; but that is all the products I have tried from their line.

Leave a Reply

