Travel / Travel Review

Travel Review: Paris

Hello everyone!

Paris is one of those cities that everyone must visit at least once in their lifetime. The first time I went, I was quite young and we barely spent anytime there, so I was determined to have a good look around the next time I went.

Paris was our final stop on my Europe road trip, and I am glad I got to spend a good 3 days there scarfing down pain au chocolats, admiring fine art and marching up and down Champ-Élysées trying to find that perfect pair of heels.

WARNING: This post is picture heavy.

The essential Paris photo.

The essential Paris photo.

While we didn’t go up the tower, we enjoyed walking around the area and trying to identify the the names of the various scientists/mathematicians on the side.

The Louvre Palace

The Louvre Palace

Lots of people visit the Louvre museum, but few know it was actually a palace that was converted into a museum. It does however explain how the museum is housed in one of the prettiest buildings I have seen. While the Mona Lisa is probably the most popular painting housed in the museum, I was particularly drawn to the ancient Egyptian section.

Book of the dead.

Book of the dead.

The manuscript is one of the Egyptian antiquities I am most intrigued by (after the Rosetta Stone). The book describes spells to guide the dead into the afterlife, and is quite long from what I could see.

The crew will now point out the nearest exits.

The crew will now point out the nearest exits.

We also saw the code of Hammuarbi, the oldest set of comprehensive laws we know, from Babylon. The code contains over 250 laws on various subjects.

The Hammurabi Code

The Hammurabi Code

I also loved the various statues they had, including the one of Venus.

Pont Alexandre III

Pont Alexandre III

Big cities always look lovely at night when they are all lit up, and this is especially true of Paris. So a cruise down the Seine after sunset is a great way to see the city at night. The photo above shows my favourite bridge in Paris, Pont Alexandre III. It is one of the most beautifully decorated bridges in the whole city.

I also really liked this fountain near the Place de la Concorde.

Fontaines de la Concorde

Fontaines de la Concorde

I love pretty buildings. I don’t know very much about it, but I can just look at the really ornate interiors of the Paris Opera house for hours. We were lucky enough to have a guide explain some of it to us, and it really did take my breath away when I saw it.

I would love to see a performance here.

I would love to see a performance here.

The Grand Foyer (kind of reminded me of the hall of mirrors in Versailles)

The Grand Foyer (kind of reminded me of the hall of mirrors in Versailles)

The famous Grand Staircase.

The famous Grand Staircase.

Another museum I had been looking forward to visiting was the Rodin museum, to see The Thinker.

Look at him, thinking away.

Look at him, thinking away.

The museum also had lovely gardens, and as a bonus we got to see other famous works such as The Kiss (it is a surprisingly small sculpture) and the Gates of Hell.

This one, however, I had not heard of.

This one, however, I had not heard of.

Another unique experience was getting a birds eye view of the city from the Montparnasse Tower. It wasn’t really on my list of things to do, and I wasn’t going to pay €11 for it, but we bought the Paris Pass for our 4 days in Paris in advance, and it was a great idea. We did actually end up saving money as well because we went to a lot of places, and had researched before hand if all the places we wanted to see were covered. It also allowed us to skip the queues at most places (except a few like the Notre Dame and the palace at Versailles). Included also were metro tickets for the 4 days (which was incredibly useful). The tower was an included attraction, and was a nice little extra for us.

A great view.

A great view.

I really did have a lovely time in Paris. A great place for shopping is the Galaries Lafayette, where I finally found my perfect pair of black heels, but I unfortunately don’t have a picture of the place.

The Paris Pass worked out to be a great for us, and you can find more details on it here.(Disclaimer: I am not affiliated with them in any way, just a happy customer!)

Have you been to Paris? What was your favourite bit? Is there any place you would like to see in particular?

Until next time, Love, Me 🙂

One thought on “Travel Review: Paris

  1. I loved Paris. Let’s see… Musee D’Orsay was gorgeous but I loved Louvre’s collection more. I loved eating the street crepes. I went to Jim Morisson’s grave which was interesting because there’s LOTS of famous people in that cemetary. The Museum of Eroticism by Moulin Rouge was very amusing. And the big Square… I forget what it was called. Very modern architecture. TONS of stuff I loved about Paris.

Leave a Reply

