A day in the life of / Beauty / Travel

Bring your own frills.

Hello!

With all the additional stress travel puts on you, you would love to have an in room facial or a foot rub when you come back from a full day of sightseeing right? But if you’re like me, and would rather save all that dough and use it for the entrance to the Dr.Who experience or the Louvre; but still want to unwind at the end of the day, here is how.

Source:http://www.hiexpressbelfast.com. My hotel room in Belfast. Looked exactly like the image on their website.

Source:http://www.hiexpressbelfast.com. My hotel room in Belfast. Looked exactly like the image on their website.

My favourite thing to do (especially on extended trips) is to bring a few home comforts with me. They don’t take much room, and can help transform a simple hotel room into something a bit more comfortable.

1. Find out before hand if your room has a bathtub. If it does, bring a small container of bubble bath, bath oil or a solid bubble bar like this one (if you don’t want even more liquids in your bag). Mine didn’t so I brought a nice shower gel instead.

2.Ambience is important. Since actual candles are a fire hazard, flameless candles which are battery operated are a good substitute. Some of them even come in scented versions, which is great for travelling. As for music, some hotel rooms already have a speaker to plug in your iPod. If not, your phones in-built speaker with the volume on low will do the trick.

A set of three flameless candles. I also had a mini room spray sample lying around that I brought with me.

A set of three flameless candles. I also had a mini room spray sample lying around that I brought with me.

3. For the actual pamper bit, a sheet mask is the most travel friendly option. No need to mess about with the clay formula from a tube, muslin cloth to wipe off etc. Just slap on and done. Since you have probably been walking around all day, some kind of foot cream is recommended. My favourite is this peppermint foot rescue from the Body Shop. If you’re travelling with someone else, you can always trade a back rub for a foot massage etc.

4. Extras. If you have the space in your bag, bring along a lightweight robe or your favourite lounge wear to relax in. And a magazine to read.

My face mask and robe. Not the superhero kind.

My face mask and robe. Not the superhero kind.

Enjoy!

Until next time, Love, Me 🙂

Leave a Reply

