A day in the life of / Life list / Thoughts / Update

Graduation!!!

Hello everyone!

It has finally happened. After four years filled with physics, I now hold a Masters degree! This also confirms my PhD position, which for me means a transatlantic move!! (Details to follow at a later date, if anyone is interested 🙂 )

I am now less than a week away from my graduation ceremony, which I am excited about especially since my lovely parents are flying in for the occasion. Since this is the day I have worked towards for so long, I am determined to enjoy myself to the fullest. So here is my outfit with a few essentials thrown in to survive the day.

Image

Surprisingly, I am not using this as an opportunity to buy a new outfit. :O Since I will be enveloped in a glorified black sheet anyway, I plan to wear a coral red shift dress that I already own. It doesn’t have any embellishments that may get caught on the hood or cape, but the bright colour will pop up nicely against the black.

Accessories I plan to keep quite simple. Again no necklaces to get tangled up, but I will be wearing my Pandora bracelet which was a gift for my 21st birthday, and my gorgeous amethyst and diamond earrings will be brought out for the special day.

My black Ferragamo heels will be performing sole duty for the day, with a pair of black foldable flats thrown into my bag for when my feet start to complain.

Instead of lugging around my huge Longchamp tote, I will whittle down my essentials into a black crossbody bag to keep my hands free for all the hand shakes and hugs 🙂 Inside I will have a small point and shoot camera to capture the special moments, especially since I will be saying goodbye to many friends who have made my problem sheet solving sessions endurable and even enjoyable. *Sob* (Must remember to wear waterproof mascara)

A small emergency kit with painkillers, plasters, plenty of safety pins and hair grips to secure the hood and cap, a tinted lip balm, a sample of my favourite Chanel perfume and a powder prevent my face from looking like a greaseball are the other things I will be cramming into my bag.

Now all there is left to do is make sure I know the handshake and not trip and fall on my face on my way to the stage…

Until next time, Love, Me 🙂

6 thoughts on “Graduation!!!

  1. Yay! Congrats once again. I know I was thrilled to be done my masters and it was only a 2 year part-time program! I can’t imagine doing four years and physics! (I was impossible with physics even when I had all the formulas!)

    I’m sure you’ll look great that day. Pack some Tide-to-Go if you can get it. I find that they’re very helpful – just in case!

    • Thank you very much!! Haha I know loads of people who say similar things, but I can’t draw to save my life, so I guess everyone has their niche!

      Good call on the Tide-to-Go, I shall pop that in as well. Thanks again for your lovely comment 🙂

  2. Love your red dress! I have a super similar one but in Royal Blue! (seriously I have way too many blue clothes for my own good!)

    Congrats on graduating Kavita! And P.S. so glad to see you’ve been blogging so much more! I am going to reread all your old posts that I missed!

Leave a Reply

