Thoughts

Girl Power!?

“I study astronomy.”

This sentence gets the most varied and dramatic responses than almost anything else I ever say. (including I am a kitty!) Some of these responses include:

  1. Oh wow!! You must be super smart! Things like that go right over my head!
  2. I am a Capricorn. What can you tell me?
  3. But you’re a girl!!

Initially I was too bewildered to give any kind of coherent response; but after hearing each of the above many times, here are my thoughts on the above.

  1. To be honest, physics may not be the easiest, but by no means is it impossible. Sure quantum chromodynamics may sound like a mouthful, but any subject once you start delving deep enough will have complex theories and its own set of required skills. Also I can’t draw to save my life. 
  2. Astronomy. Not astrology. Google the difference. If you still want me to predict your future, here it is: Tomorrow you will wake up, do a bunch of things and go back to sleep.
  3. Well spotted!

One of the things that most people around me seem to find confusing is that I talk both physics and skincare. On reading one of my previous posts on skincare, a friend remarked “Oh I thought someone hacked your account.” Hmmm.

I wear glasses. I like kittens. I love studying neutron stars. I read Glamour magazine. I am not a girly girl or an astrophysicist. I am a girly girl AND an astrophysicist.

On a related note, I do believe that girls should be encouraged to study physics, if they want to. Sure, encourage them but please don’t insult me by saying I should study it to look at pretty pictures. I do it because I find it interesting. On the other hand, I don’t think there should be positions reserved for women in research institutes. I want to be selected for my abilities. I don’t want to be known as the girl who was taken in to fill the post.

Also, xkcd is amazing.

kitty

Until next time, Love, Me 🙂

3 thoughts on “Girl Power!?

  1. You study astronomy that’s pretty cool. I love reading about space, stars and comets. I find it so interesting especially other planets and how it’s different from earth.

Leave a Reply

