Thoughts / Travel

Memories of roads I travelled…

I was looking through the shelves in my house; the ones that hold proudly the various souvenirs from all over the world and I asked myself what the most memorable one was. The answer? My travel journal!!

Plain pages held together by two sheets of cardboard, carefully preserving some of the most amazing moments of my life.

Most people these days prefer to note down every word that come to their mind on their laptops or smartphones; but to me actully writing it out on paper, the old fashioned way adds to the unique feel of travelling.

My journal is not only a list of places I saw; but a record of each day spent exploring, a few phrases of the local language, and various entry ticket stubs that I stick in.

Used entry tickets to the Herakleion museum in Knossos, Greece; a mini map of the scenic world, Blue mountains, Australia; and the sticker on the free water bottle they give on the Singapore ducktours. Inexpensive yet priceless.

So next time you head out somewhere; jot down your experience, stick in the stubs and you wont have to spend a fortune on a cap or shirt with a logo printed on it to remember your trip!!

Until next time, Love, Me 🙂

3 thoughts on “Memories of roads I travelled…

  1. I agree with you completely. Whenever you store something on a laptop or your mobile phone, a “non-human” component is added to it; only when we write it down, it remains human to the core.

    • Very true Kavita… i still preserve those greetings given by my friends during college days, in the 1990’s, as well as my slam book. Every time I peep into the book, I get back to those days and thoroughly enjoy every moment of those memorable days.

Leave a Reply

