Uncategorized

Till the stars rain down on you…

I was in the backseat of my car. Closed windows and airconditioning to negate the effects of the summer evening. And I wasn’t the only one. Vehicles of all shapes and sizes waiting impatiently to get on with their fast paced lives, but stuck unwillingly in one of the numerous traffic jams in the city. I was in one such car when something caught my eye.

Well above me, and mundane things such as work, schedules and maybe time itself, was the cresent moon, closely followed by Venus. It was so gorgeous, so breathtakingly beautiful, it seemed a shame to not keep staring at it. I looked around me; and everywhere I saw people craning their necks to estimate how much longer they would have to wait. I felt so angry; and so sad. Why is everyone so busy with their lives to even look up for a few seconds?

When driving everyone turns around to see posters about sales, pretty dresses, movie promotions and so on; but completely fail to turn their heads a few degrees more to gaze at something a million times better.

I kept staring till the car started to move; and the celestial wonders disappeared behind the treetops.

A few days later, I happened to go to the outskirts of the city with a group of astronomers more dedicated than I could possibly wish for. After our outreach programme which included many demonstrations of how the phases of the moon occur and other such seemingly simple questions, we settled down to watch the Perseids meteor shower.

After initally confusing passing fireflies for meteors, I spotted the first meteor of the night, as did many others. A joyful cry went out “There!!!”. I looked around me. No high end telescopes, no gadgets of any kind. Just friends sitting together in plastic chairs with no armrests, slathered in mosquito repellant looking up to the heavens.

Thats how easy it is to let the stars into your life; all you have to do is look up.

So next time you hear about a meteor shower, head up to the roof top, lie down and face the stars; and they will rain down on you.

Until next time, Love, Me 🙂

2 thoughts on “Till the stars rain down on you…

  1. Well said. People give importance to mundane aspects of life while they completely miss such beautiful things.

Leave a Reply

